Go green at the Metropolitan Campus for Earth Day


Earth Day clean-up volunteers have removed old bed frames and mattresses from the Hackensack River in previous years.

Teaneck, N.J. (April 7, 2014) Fairleigh Dickinson Universitys Metropolitan Campus will celebrate Earth Day 2014 from 129 p.m. on Wednesday, April 16 join campus-wide efforts to better the environment.

From noon until 4 p.m. on Gazebo Green (located between Becton and University Hall) there will be live entertainment from students, as well as vendors focusing on green issues, games to increase environmental awareness, a greenhouse plant sale, electronic and printer cartridge recycling, a book exchange, the river clean up and lunch.

From 5:30-9 p.m. in the Ruth Schwartz Reading Room in Giovatto Library, there will be a Sustainability Conference. Those interested in presenting should contact Christina Catalano at cmclaw@student.fdu.edu by April 10. In addition to the conference, there will also be Earth Day poster presentations and a poster competition. All students with posters regarding sustainability or environmental issues are welcome to enter, with prizes for the winners. Free pizza and refreshments will be served.

The event activities are organized by the Green Campus committee and the student Green Team and sponsored by the Institute for Sustainable Enterprise, Office of Global Learning and the Office of the Provost.

For additional information, contact Alice Benzecry at benzecry@fdu.edu.

For Immediate Release

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (Metropolitan Campus Office)
Dickinson Hall, Room 3365, H-DH3-13, Teaneck, NJ 07666

Dina Schipper,
Director of Public Relations
201-692-7031/7032
Fax: 201-692-7019
dina_schipper@fdu.edu

Kenna Caprio,
Communications Writer
201-692-7034
Fax: 201-692-7019
kcaprio@fdu.edu

Helen Grill,
Senior General Clerk
201-692-7028
Fax: 201-692-7019
helen919_grill@fdu.edu

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (College at Florham Office)
Public Relations Building, M-PR1-01, Madison, NJ 08450

Scott Giglio,
Assistant Director of Public Relations
973-443-8756
Fax: 973-443-8671
giglio@fdu.edu

Daniel Landau,
Public Relations Assistant
973-443-8661
Fax: 973-443-8671
daniel_landau@fdu.edu