FDU Presents the Musical “Gypsy”

MADISON, N.J. (March 5, 2012)—Fairleigh Dickinson University will present the musical, “Gypsy” in March and April. Performances will be held in Dreyfuss Theater at FDU’s College at Florham in Madison, N.J. 

One of the most quintessential and beloved musicals of the 20th century, “Gypsy” is the ultimate story of the aggressive stage mother. Join Rose, Baby June and Louise in their trip across America in the 1920’s, when vaudeville was dying and burlesque was born. Jule Styne’s music and Stephen Sondheim’s lyrics include such classics as “Let Me Entertain You,” “Some People,” “You’ll Never Get Away From Me,” “All I Need Is The Girl” and the unforgettable “Everything’s Coming Up Roses.”

Performance dates are Wednesday, March 28 through Saturday, March 31 at 8 p.m., April 1 at 2:30 with an extension two weeks later on April 13, 14, at 8 p.m. and April 15 at 2:30 p.m.

For the first time, FDU will be hiring a professional actress, Carole Healey, to appear alongside students in the role of “Mama Rose.”     

“Gypsy” is directed by Stephen Hollis. Musical direction by Allen Cohen. The choreography is by Cindy Thole. Set design is by Jonathan Wentz. Erin Schultz is designing costumes, and lighting design is by David Landau.

Tickets for all shows are $5 for students and the FDU community, and $10 for the general public. Tickets can be purchased at the door or reserved in advance by calling 973-443-8644. For further information, email Stephen Hollis at Hollis@fdu.edu or call 973-443-8467. FDU’s College at Florham is at 285 Madison Ave., Madison, N.J.

For Immediate Release

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (Metropolitan Campus Office)
Dickinson Hall, Room 3365, H-DH3-1, Teaneck, NJ 07666

Dina Schipper,
Director of Public Relations
201-692-7031/7032
Fax: 201-692-7019
dina_schipper@fdu.edu

Kenna Caprio,
Communications Writer
201-692-7034
Fax: 201-692-7019
kcaprio@fdu.edu

Helen Grill,
Senior General Clerk
201-692-7028
Fax: 201-692-7019
helen919_grill@fdu.edu

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (College at Florham Office)
East Cottage, Second Floor, M-EC2-01, Madison, NJ 08450

Scott Giglio,
Assistant Director of Public Relations
973-443-8756
Fax: 973-443-8671
giglio@fdu.edu

Daniel Landau,
Public Relations Assistant
973-443-8661
Fax: 973-443-8671
daniel_landau@fdu.edu