Biodiversity theme for Earth Day 2014 events at Florham Campus


Reuter's Rock announces the Earth Day 2014 theme of biodiversity at Fairleigh Dickinson University's Florham Campus. (Photo by Catherine Krawiec)

Madison, N.J. (April 16, 2014) – Fairleigh Dickinson University’s Florham Campus will celebrate Earth Day 2014 throughout the week of April 21 with several different biodiversity-themed events.

 

Tuesday, April 22: A student photo contest run April 15-22. Post photos of Florham Campus plants and animals to Instagram and Twitter with the hashtag #FDUEarth. The winner will receive $100 flex dollars.

 

A Hot Topics presentation, “To Kill or Not to Kill: The Effect of Feral Cats on Biodiversity” will be held in Lenfell Hall at 7 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 23: The Student Athletic Advisory Committee will lead a campus clean up through the afternoon.

 

Thursday, April 24: Events run throughout the day. At noon there will be a guided campus bird walk, directly following that at 1 p.m. a guided plant walk will be offered. Both walks leave from the front of Hennessy Hall.

 

At 2 p.m. there will be a talk and exhibit by Giselle Smisko of the Avian Wildlife Center called “Birds of the Backyard and Beyond,” in the Orangerie, Monninger Center. At 3:30 p.m. outside the Orangerie, paint a birdhouse for the campus birds.

 

Nature photos by W. Scott Giglio will be on display in the Monninger Center. The day ends with a performance by the FDU Chorus, the FDU Band and the award presentation for the winner of the #FDUEarth photo competition.

 

Events and activities are organized by the Green Campus Committee and the Student Green Team and sponsored by the Institute for Sustainable Enterprise, Office of Global Learning and the Office of the Provost.

 

For additional information, email Edith Myers at emyers@fdu.edu or Jim Salierno at salierno@fdu.edu.


For Immediate Release

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (Metropolitan Campus Office)
Dickinson Hall, Room 3365, H-DH3-13, Teaneck, NJ 07666

Dina Schipper,
Director of Public Relations
201-692-7031/7032
Fax: 201-692-7019
dina_schipper@fdu.edu

Kenna Caprio,
Communications Writer
201-692-7034
Fax: 201-692-7019
kcaprio@fdu.edu

Helen Grill,
Senior General Clerk
201-692-7028
Fax: 201-692-7019
helen919_grill@fdu.edu

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (College at Florham Office)
Public Relations Building, M-PR1-01, Madison, NJ 08450

Scott Giglio,
Assistant Director of Public Relations
973-443-8756
Fax: 973-443-8671
giglio@fdu.edu

Daniel Landau,
Public Relations Assistant
973-443-8661
Fax: 973-443-8671
daniel_landau@fdu.edu