Alumni lauded for their efforts at the University

Interim President Sheldon Drucker, honorees James Rana, Jessica Fargnoli and Armen Khachaturian, and Fairleigh Dickinson University Alumni Association President and Board of Trustees member John Carscadden smile following the alumni award presentations.

James Rana, BA ’98, received the Outstanding Young Alumni Award; Jessica Fargnoli, BA’06, MA’07, the Volunteer of the Year Award; and Armen Khachaturian, BS’69, MBA’80, The Elia G. Stratis CASTLE Award at the 2012 Alumni Awards Ceremony held on Homecoming Weekend.

Recipients of the Outstanding Young Alumni Award include those who have graduated in the past 15 years and have achieved extraordinary success in their profession. They are acknowledged as emerging leaders in their fields or for services to the university and the Alumni Association. Rana serves as an adjunct faculty member at FDU, teaching theater and communications courses. He also directs productions featuring the University Players.

The Volunteer of the Year Award is given to an alumnus who has contributed significantly to one of the following areas: academic programs, admissions, athletics, career development, chapters, fundraising or student life. Fargnoli is a founding member of the Frank Giovatto Library Alumni Advisory Board and has presented at the library’s Faculty and Alumni Speaker Series.

The Stratis CASTLE Award is the highest award the Alumni Association presents to its most distinguished alumni. To receive this award, an individual must have made significant contributions to the University or have served with distinction in University organizations. Khachaturian’s dedication to FDU can be seen in his contributions to the Silberman Board of Advisors, PITCH Competition Advisory and the Alumni Association Board of Governors. He is also a generous supporter of the Elia G. Stratis Scholarship.

The Alumni Association Board of Governors hosts the Alumni Awards Ceremony every autumn.  The board encourages alumni, faculty, administrators, staff and friends of the University to nominate candidates for the 2013 alumni awards. Nominations must be submitted by April 2013 for consideration.

For Immediate Release

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (Metropolitan Campus Office)
Dickinson Hall, Room 3365, H-DH3-13, Teaneck, NJ 07666

Dina Schipper,
Director of Public Relations
Fax: 201-692-7019

Kenna Caprio,
Communications Writer
Fax: 201-692-7019

Helen Grill,
Senior General Clerk
Fax: 201-692-7019

FDU Office of Public Relations

   (College at Florham Office)
East Cottage, Second Floor, M-EC2-01, Madison, NJ 08450

Scott Giglio,
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Fax: 973-443-8671

Daniel Landau,
Public Relations Assistant
Fax: 973-443-8671